Oh yeah… Chicago…

 

 

 

I looked at a calender the other day, and realized there is only next month separating me and the Chicago Marathon.  I also realized I haven’t done any of the long training runs… oops. I got so distracted by my foot, and other races, time flew by. But today I accomplished the longest run I’ve ever done by myself that wasn’t a race – 12.89 miles. Took me an hour and 45 min. I stopped once around mile 9 to try one of those cliff gel things (i’ve never tried a goo or gel, or eating anything while running). Surprisingly, Im a fan. I also ran with my handy Nathan water belt for the first time, I’m a fan of that too.

Right now my foot is in a bucket of ice. And it hurts. But I think thats mostly cause its really cold. I wish it would just get better, cause it doesn’t seem to be getting any worse.

I did a couple races last week. Wednesday was the dirt cheap trail race #5 – only one more left next month. My current series standing is 4th overall, and 3rd for my age group.

For the Dirt Cheap at Webster park:
I was 64th out of 360
7th female out of 113
4th in my age group
My time was 48:39 (somewhere between 5 and 6 miles)

I also did the 5k run for Lupus on Saturday:
I was 1st female overall
5k time was 21:36 – not my best, but it was a small race.
Official results aren’t posted yet – so I don’t know any other details.

Kyle and I are off to the Adirondacks this weekend. If the weather is good I hope to do 3 of the high peaks.

 

Leave a Reply

