training : week 3 slump

It’s that time of year again where I spend most of my days at work. We are ridiculously busy, and trying to do way too much all at once. But this means I’m on my feet ALL day, lifting things, going up and down ladders… which isn’t much different than usual. I think with the increase in training, and increase in work at the store… my legs are just extra dead. I’ll take walking all day verses sitting all day though.

I was suppose to do 7 miles last night after working 8:30 – 6 … I finally sat down and didn’t want to get back up… but figured I gotta at least do our 4 mile loop. So with the company of Kyle, we managed 4 miles…. and actually picked up the pace and did the last mile at 6:40…. not bad.

Now that today is my day off I HAVE to do a long run…. no excuses today.

Training update:

Week 1: Goal 31 miles – I ran 28.6
Week 2: Goal 41 miles – I ran 40.4
Week 3: Goal 46 miles – so far Im at 22.25 (this might be a tough one to hit)

I knew I would have good weeks and bad weeks… I expect to come up short some weeks, and maybe some weeks I’ll even do more.

I started reading the book “Run!” by Dean Karnazes after I met him at the Chicago Marathon in 2012. Yes… started the book in 2012, and just picked it up again the other day. Im horrible at reading books…. takes me like 3 years. I feel like I have so many other things to do, I can’t just sit and read and accomplish nothing. I’m determined to finish the book by next month though. I love it when Im reading it… I’ve been writing down quotes as I read it, because … I dunno they’re good quotes.

“There is no path of least resistance in training…”
“Once you permit yourself to compromise, you fail yourself.”

Dean signed my book πŸ™‚
Dean Karnazes RUN!

This week has been stressful, and it’s instantly refreshing to read some of the quotes I wrote down. so Here’s a couple more:

“Running has the ability to mellow the soul, take the edge off hard feelings, and put things back into healthy perspective.”

“We runners don’t need a lot. It’s not what we have but what we enjoy that constitutes our abundance.”

One response

  1. I write down quotes all the time, I have notebook I keep them in. It helps to sometimes just go back and look at them as reminders. This week has been kind of a slump for me as well, just over tired, and not motivation to get things done. That’s really cool that you have a book signed by Dean, must have been awesome getting to meet him!

Leave a Reply

