Tough mudder Buffalo Recap

Tough Mudder was awesome yesterday at Tall Pines ATV Park. We had a team of 9 people, and I can’t imagine what it would have been like without them. We were in no hurry, our only goal was to do every obstacle, even the extra burn zones. We had a couple knee issues on our team, so we couldn’t go anywhere fast… but that was ok. It was fun to stay together, and laugh at each other, every 2 seconds someone was falling or slipping in mud. I knew it would be muddy…. but never imagined that much mud. Pretty disgusting when you think about it – Im hoping I don’t come down with some strange …. who knows what. My right eye is a little puffy today… I hope that goes away – ha!

We finished in a little over 4 hours, and it was just about 12 miles. Got electro-shocked at 2 obstacles. I got shocked 3 times in the electric eel, and only once at the finish line… our finish was pretty epic though. The worst obstacle was Arctic Anema…. That was the only obstacle I was worried about going into this. Β It was so bad! Jumping in the ice cold water was not so bad…. but going under the plank of wood, it starts to hit you. Then coming up on the other side, there is so much ice gathered, it was almost hard to come up! I then couldn’t get to the edge to get out, because of the barrier of ice between me and the wall. I reached out my hand and my team mates were pulling me out, and as much and I tried to move my legs…. I couldn’t. I feel like it took a good 2 minutes to pull me out…. it was awful. But that’s also the funnest one to look back on. My team said I looked terrified… like I was about to die. I never thought I could be so paralyzed by cold water. Pretty Crazy. I couldn’t have done half of these obstacles without my team – As soon as I was about to fail, there was hand reaching for me.
Here’s some pics.

Team before the start

Team before the start

Kyle and I marking each other

Kyle and I marking each other

After we "walked off the plank"

After we “walked off the plank”

Me jumping off "walk the plank"- no I didn't land on Cory

Me jumping off “walk the plank”- no I didn’t land on Cory

Ladies First?

Ladies First?

Kyle and I in Warrior Carry

Kyle and I in Warrior Carry

Monkey Bar-ing

Monkey Bar-ing

They tried to carry Justin through... and failed

They tried to carry Justin through… and failed

Epic finish

Epic finish

Team Muddy Nutties!

Team Muddy Nutties!

So awesome – Definitely plan on doing this next year, hopefully with a larger team.

Post tough mudder

Post tough mudder

I was told I looked rough on the way home.... didn't believe them till I took this!

I was told I looked rough on the way home…. didn’t believe them till I took this!

Our shirts are living in the bathtub for now

Our shirts are living in the bathtub for now

finisher t-shirt

finisher t-shirt

Only a few scrapes and bruises!

Only a few scrapes and bruises!

ok – I have yet to find a picture of me in Arctic Anema – but just so you get an idea of how much ice there was…. look at this.
ice

4 responses

  1. OMG I’ve been so excited to read your recap of this! I knew you would have a great time πŸ™‚

    Love all the photos, super glad you didn’t jump on your friend LOL.

    I heard crazy things about the ice bin! My Fiances twin brother did it and he said they had trucks constantly pouring more ice in!!!

    P.S. are you doing the Buffalo Mud run?

    • I didn’t know about the Buffalo Mud run, but I just looked it up. Is it the Zombie one in September? That one looks awesome…. and I really want to do it, but it’s probably smarter not too :(. Next year were planning on doing Tough Mudder both Sat. and Sunday. And maybe we’ll do the buffalo mud run next year too.

    • So much fun! Yes I got shocked once at the finish… thankfully wasn’t as bad as I expected. I got shocked 3 times in the electric eel though – where you crawl under electrical wires. That one wasn’t so enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

