Week 8 update

So week 8 ended pretty well. I got in a 13 mile run before work Saturday, ending my week at 46.6 miles. I wanted to go longer but I was having issues….. It’s pretty crazy how you can run if your sore, if your foot hurts, knee hurts, pretty much push through any pain… except stomach issues. That’s like a runners worst nightmare.

Training update:

  • Week 1: Goal 31 miles – I ran 28.6
  • Week 2: Goal 41 miles – I ran 40.4
  • Week 3: Goal 46 miles – I ran 22.25
  • Week 4: Goal 46 miles – I ran 42.4
  • Week 5: Goal 51 miles – I ran 36.3
  • Week 6: Goal 36 miles – I ran 21.3
  • Week 7: Goal 51 miles – I ran 28.1
  • Week 8: Goal 53 miles – I ran 46.6

The goal for this week is 52 miles. So far I’m at 4…. ha. I plan on fixing that soon. Now that I am past the half way point, Im trying to make sure Im running faster. I’d like to keep longer runs right around 8 min pace, and shorter runs under 8. My goal is a 8 min/mile Marathon, that would put me right at 3:30:00.

What are thoughts on this shoe? I haven’t worn Nike shoes in years… but this one caught my eye. I don’t wear socks anyway, and it just looks awesome. It’s the Nike Free Flyknit
flynit

5 responses

  1. Definitely a solid mileage week last week!

    Are you thinking of running the marathon in the Nike’s? I ran my first in Free’s and had serious IT issues so that would be my only warning. If you already run in lightweights you should be okay though. They’re fun shoes to run in, I just can’t do distance in them without my IT giving me issues

    • I do run in minimalist shoes, but I probably wouldn’t wear the Nike’s for a Marathon… Im just debating on if I want to buy them eventually. Right now I need another pair of Brooks before I get any Nike’s tho!

Leave a Reply

