Summerfest 12k & Training update

Training update:

Week 1: Goal 31 miles – I ran 28.6
Week 2: Goal 41 miles – I ran 40.4
Week 3: Goal 46 miles – I ran 22.25
Week 4: Goal 46 miles – I ran 42.4
Week 5: Goal 51 miles – I ran 36.3
Week 6: Goal 36 miles – I ran 21.3
Week 7: Goal 51 miles – I ran 28.1
Week 8: Goal 53 miles – I ran 46.6
Week 9: Goal 52 miles – I ran 31.3
Week 10: Goal 41 miles – I ran 32
Week 11: Goal 57 miles – I ran 31.3
week 12: Goal 55 miles – I ran 33.3

I might not be hitting my goals for training… but at least I’ve been consistent, right? Only 3 weeks left till Marathon day. I attempted to do a 20 miler on Wednesday last week. I made the mistake of leaving for my run at 1pm, but it was cloudy when I left. Of course the sun comes out early into the run, and by mile 7 I was panicking. The sun was draining, I didn’t want to be in it anymore but there was absolutely no shade – I also didn’t bring enough water. I ended up doing 11 miles. I will attempt another 20 miler this week.

So the Fleet Feet Summerfest 12k was fun.  I thought I would have a new 12K PR, seeing as I’ve only ran 2 other 12k’s and they were in the winter. This race felt hard… hot and humid. I’m not one to dump water on myself during a race, but I did twice! I passed the 3rd female around mile 3, and took off for a little while. Quickly ran out of energy. By mile 5 I wanted to be done. During the race I was thinking, how am I going to run 26 miles when 7 feels so hard? I was also thinking that this is how I will feel at some point, and I just have to keep running. I also wanted to keep my 3rd place spot. So I pretty much picked it up when I could (downhills) and trotted along. Here’s the results:

7.5 miles – 56:50 (7:38 min/miles)
24th overall out of 350
3rd female out of 206
2nd in age group out of 42

My 12k PR is 55:45 from the New Years Resolution run.

summerfest12k_Aug31_2013

Start

Start

Finish

Finish

One response

  1. I did summerfest 12k last year and it DOWNPOURED. Congrats on 3rd OA and 2nd in AG, thats solid time and placing. Don’t relate the race to the marathon, you are going to kick butt at Rochester and you won’t be pushing as hard in the marathon so you will definitely get through it unscathed!

Leave a Reply

