Training Week 13

Training Update:

Week 1: Goal 31 miles – I ran 28.6
Week 2: Goal 41 miles – I ran 40.4
Week 3: Goal 46 miles – I ran 22.25
Week 4: Goal 46 miles – I ran 42.4
Week 5: Goal 51 miles – I ran 36.3
Week 6: Goal 36 miles – I ran 21.3
Week 7: Goal 51 miles – I ran 28.1
Week 8: Goal 53 miles – I ran 46.6
Week 9: Goal 52 miles – I ran 31.3
Week 10: Goal 41 miles – I ran 32
Week 11: Goal 57 miles – I ran 31.3
Week 12: Goal 55 miles – I ran 33.3
Week 13: Goal 49 miles – I ran 24.5

This was a hectic week. I started my new job part-time until my two weeks are up at Staples. So that meant no days off. I started the week off well with my 20 miler Tuesday – but just ran out of time and energy to run for the rest of the week. I tried to do other things – I did a couple strength workouts, yoga, I managed to go to the gym and elliptical before both jobs on Friday….. Probably not the best marathon training method, especially with only two weeks left. But I feel better knowing I had one awesome run this week – and it was an important one, the 20 miler!

Training is tricky, whether you follow your plan or not, you still don’t know what’s gonna happen race day. I’m currently at 418 miles trained for Rochester Marathon – I only need 7 more miles to match what I trained for Chicago (425.9). I have three goals for Rochester – 1. Complete the Marathon with no walking – 2. PR – 3. Qualify for Boston

I can’t believe the Marathon is only 2 weeks away. It’s been taking forever to get here, and now that it is – Im nervous. And excited.

This next week is also going to be crazy. 0 days off again – except for Monday, which is just crazy by itself. Tomorrow (Sunday) Im meeting up with a fellow running blogger Laura for a 17/18 miler, then I work the rest of the day. Monday Kyle and I are on the road to NYC at 4am to get there by 12pm – which is when he has a tattoo appointment. Then were driving back as soon as he’s done. That’s 12 hours of just driving… should be exciting. He’s getting a tattoo by an artist that lives out west, but is coming to NY for a short time. Someone he’s really wanted a tattoo from – so it’ll be fun. Tuesday I work. Wednesday I work, then have the last race in the Dirt Cheap Trail Race Series. Then the rest of the week I work. I’m thankful for the running plans tomorrow and the race Wednesday… at least i’ll have 2 solid days of running. I’d also like to do one last track workout.

I don’t like that I seem to be working more than anything else. I do like my new job though, I am finally full time Mon-Friday. and will eventually have weekends off!? I started reading Scott Jurek’s “Eat & Run” – here’s a quote – “What mattered wasn’t how much money you made, or where you lived, it was how you lived.”

The end.

Leave a Reply

