1 year, 100th post, and Freezeroo race

Has it only been 1 year since I started using wordpress? Crazy… and 100 posts! Geez. I made this blog with the idea it would include all things graphic design, but it quickly turned into all things running. This weekend coming up will be my last race of the year – It’ll be my 24th race – and that will make my 2013 racing miles = 228.285 miles.

Saturday I ran the first Freezeroo race of the series. My car said it was 9 degrees out…. It was snowing, and there was a “nice” couple layers of snow on the ground. Doing any sort of warmup quickly went out the window. I should get a shirt made saying “does not run when cold.” I hate being cold.

I wore this cool new Nike running top I got, It had this turtle neck thing that could cover part of your face. I thought it would be perfect… except it wouldn’t stay over my face. Ugh.
Laura
Notice not covering my face – very frustrating.

This is how I was planning on wearing it…
1503978_10100521175118077_458712999_n

The ground was covered in snow, even on the roads. It was very slippery, and I couldn’t get any good traction. As fast as I wanted to go, I just couldn’t… as hard as I tried, I didn’t go anywhere. I was so glad this was only a 5k. I’m sure I was not the only one with these problems… cause I still managed 5th female overall, and 1st in age group.

Here’s the results:
46th overall out of 181
5th female out of 66
1st in age group out of 4
3.1 miles in 23:58 :-/ (7:44 min/miles)

Next race is a 5k as well, it’s the Reindeer Run 5k. Which I’ve never done before… hoping for some redemption.

7 responses

  1. It was terrible conditions for running. However. If it wasn’t for the race I may of stayed inside on this day. Run hard Saturday. It will feel like summer!

  2. Bummer that the new top wouldn’t stay over your face! But you still did great the cold and snow lately certainly isn’t creating fast times anywhere.

    I am doing Reindeer run too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ( hope that explained my excitement?)

Leave a Reply

