Ultra Recovery

I was almost more scared of how I would feel after the Ultra than I was during it. I was nervous that 2 weeks wasn’t enough time to recover for my first trail marathon – Sehgahunda. I understimated myself.

Incase you missed my recap of the Ultra – I ran a 12 hour race called Mind the Ducks. I ran for a total of 11:49:23 and 55.66 miles (12:45 min/miles)

2 days after the Ultra, my only nagging issue was the blister on my big toe. 3 days after the blister was alittle better, and I tested my legs out at the gym. I did a mile on the elliptical and 1 mile on the treadmill. I was really excited because a dirt cheap race was on Wednesday, and I didn’t think I would be able to run it. But 4 days after the Ultra I ran a SUPER muddy and rainy, 5ish mile trail race… and felt awesome.

I started out super easy and picked it up about half way. It was so muddy and slippery there were times no matter how hard I tried I couldn’t go faster. But I ended up with:

76th overall out of 323
7th female overall
2nd in age group
5.3ish miles in 52:57 (about 4 to 5 min slower than usual)

The day after this race my legs still felt awesome, but my blister… it was killing me. I was convinced it was getting infected, but discovered it hurt so much because there was also a blister under my toe nail. I haven’t lost the nail yet, but it’s gonna happen.

I took a few days off after the race… not on purpose, I just didn’t make time ro run. Saturday I did an easy 2 hours which got me 13.3 ish miles. My legs started to feel a little tired and tight by the end, and my feet were a little achey. So then Sunday I did an easy 2 miles then about an hour of yoga.

I don’t really have a plan for this week. The race is on Saturday. I might go for a few short runs, or else go to the gym at least once. I need to go into this race pretty lose. I’ve ran the relay the last 2 years, and always have something cramp up… but not this time. I’ve ordered new trail shoes… hopefully they fit. And ordered those electrolyte tablets.

Ultra recovery was actually a lot easier than any marathon I’ve done. Could be due to the fact that I ran A LOT slower than I would during a marathon, and also had walking breaks. Im excited to try another ultra that doesn’t involve running in circles. There may be a trail Ultra in the near future 🙂

One response

Leave a Reply

