3 races 2 weeks, moving and Ultra training

So life exploded these last couple weeks with 3 races, moving into a house, and attempting to train for an ultra…. all while still working 40 hours. So here it goes:

1. I am offically off the wait list for Canlakes 50 mile!! annnnnd – it’s only a month away…

2. I had 2 good weeks of training – followed by 2 sub 20 mile weeks… who needs quality training for an Ultra, right?

3. Dirt Cheap Trail race #5 – was Wednesday Aug. 20th
– I came in 38th overall
– 3rd female overall
– 2nd in AG
– 5.1ish miles in 50:14

4. We made our first big attempt at moving on Saturday August 23rd.
– Only had the Uhaul for 4 hours
– Also didn’t have any help – just me and Kyle.
– We had to make multiple trip with our cars after returning the Uhaul – and ended our last trip at 11ish PM with the doggies. 

5. Dam Good Trail Race was the next day – August 24th – At Letchworth Park
– I got 2 hours of sleep – Thanks to it being the first night in the new place, and the dogs also kept us up all night. 
– I still managed to run ok, the legs felt tired tho.
– I was 29th overall out of 144
– 6th female overall
– 2nd in AG
– 13.3ish miles in 2:08:43

6. I still haven’t been to a doctor – I tried… but no one is accepting new patients. So I gave up.

7. We finished moving the rest of our stuff Saturday August 30th – and scrubbed the apartment in hopes of getting our security deposit back. 

8.  I ran Virgil Monster Half marathon – August 31st 
– It rained the entire time
– It got muddier and slippery-er as the race went on.
– The race started out hard with the first 3 miles pretty much uphill… then it got fun. I didn’t even mind the rain or mud that much. I was glad I decided against running the marathon tho!
– I was 17th overall
– 5th female overall
– 2nd in AG
– 13ish miles in 2:26:14

These next couple weeks will be very important for Ultra training. If I can get a couple more solid long runs I think i’ll feel better about how Canlakes will go. 

Photo credit IAMLESHER.COM from Dam Good Trail Race

Photo credit IAMLESHER.COM from Dam Good Trail Race

 

6 responses

  1. Good luck in your ultra. From experience stay hydrated and eat as much as you can without getting GI issues. Don’t worry about the training sometimes quality is better than quantity and a few light weeks here and there are good for recovery.

Leave a Reply

