CanLakes 50 – one week

Next Saturday i’ll be running CanLakes 50.

Start time will be 7:30am, and so far the weather is looking…. ok. Start will be cold – 40 ish degrees, then a high of 57/60. Im sure that will change next week though. I’d rather it be warmer than colder…

Running this week has been pretty much non-existent. Too busy/ felt tired and no desire to run…. good thing the race is next weekend.

Here’s the general idea of the race course: (Around Canandaigua Lake)
50mile

There’s 4 major climbs – Coye Rd, Bopple Hill, South Valley, and Bare Hill. (Bopple being the worst at mile 15).

elevation

My game plan: Take it 15 miles at a time. I’ll start out easy with my goal to get to Bopple, and get UP Bopple without wasting too much time. After Bopple its pretty easy for a while, so i’ll do whatever my body feels like doing. My goal is to feel good for this 15, then suffer for about 5 miles…. Then at mile 35 I’ll pick up my pacer (Kyle). Then the last 15 will be hard, and goal is to just keep moving and try not to waste time, or die.

But. If I were to die from something – It would be running. I keep having all these weird problems… and no I haven’t gone to a doctor. But running makes me feel like there’s nothing wrong. I’d like to believe that running can cure anything – and maybe if I run long enough it’ll just go away. (I know – not true). I’ll probably make an appointment after CanLakes… but I would really rather just go on not knowing.

Time Goal: #1 – Less than 12 hours. #2 – If im feeling ok/ run the same pace I ran Mind the Ducks, I should finish within 10 hours. #3-(If amazing things happen) under 9 hours.

My goal throughout the race is to not be dumb. I usually get to a point where I don’t want to eat, and so I dont. I’ll have to force myself or else bad things would probably happen. At least this time around I will be equipt with Endurolytes. I don’t plan on using them until I think my body needs them, so probably around half-way or more.

I keep thinking about Mind the Ducks (12 hour) and how I felt during that…. I am dreading the part where it’s starts to get hard. I was pretty scared during Mind the Ducks – convinced my Kidneys were failing, convinced I was going to go to bed and not wake up the next morning. I joked about it during the race – but I was completely serious. My body went into shock after Mind the Ducks – I was freezing, uncontrollable shivering, rediculous melt down… hoping it doesn’t happen again. But with my race history – highly likeable.

Im debating on not using my Garmin for the race – leaning towards not. Knowing my pace or what time it is would add a level of stress that I don’t want.

Vegan update: Still Vegan

The End.

One response

  1. Ahh I can’t believe it’s already time for canlakes! You are going to do great! Embrace Bopple and don’t get defeated- that thing is a beast that I don’t even like riding up in a car let alone a bike or 2 feet. You are a strong ultra runner and hill runner- I cannot wait to see you kick ass out there!

    Hope everything is okay, sounds like a trip to the doc after the race wouldn’t be the worst thing. let’s catch up soon!

Leave a Reply

